Sunday, May 8, 2011

Just to update...

I totally did both sets of push ups on my knees (got a bit of carpet burn!) during the 30 DS! I definitely find it a LOT harder after running, but I guess that's just part of the challenge for me. "These abs don't come for free" as Jillian would say!

Now the new challenge- getting up tomorrow morning and doing day 6 before work. We'll see...

I'm still here!

Since my last post, I've been super busy, but still working in the 30 day shred video and working some more running. I ran with the local running group yesterday, in fact. I joined a 30DS challenge group on myfitnesspal.com to help keep me honest with that. I started it on May 1st and in theory, we'd all finish the video on May 30th. I've already missed 3 days, but I have found that it is getting ever so slightly easier! In fact, just today, I felt the urge to do some push ups. I've been doing the 30DS ones against a television on my floor (about 2-2.5 feet high). Those are still HARD- especially since we have to do them continuously for 30 seconds in two bursts in the very first circuit. Well, today, I got down on the floor and found I could do 15 "girl" push ups (meaning, on my knees, instead of my toes.) Fifteen!!! I've never been able to do any push ups (except maybe when I was a kid??) Incredible! I geekily shared my joy with my boyfriend who I was skyping with at the time. :) (He also seemed pleased for me!)

Talk about some motivation! I look forward to seeing if I can do the girl push ups now while doing the video. Which I will be doing later tonight. After I go for my 4 mile run.... This will be day 5 on level one. I do find that I am starting to say things along with Jillian! Which I think is why I needed a couple of days away. This time next week, I should be well into level 2, though. I am a little nervous about that, but I am trusting that by the time I get there, I will be ready. I am already starting to see a lot of improvement (albeit not visual- yet.) My goal is to finish one round before I leave for France with the students on June 9th (which means no more missing days!) The main advantage of the DVD is that I can just start it up in my living room and save the time I'd have to spend driving to the gym and back. Plus, it means I get to sleep in just a little longer versus the mornings I run. I eventually want to try doing both every day (well, most). Something to work up to!